Crockpot Chickpea Chili (Vegetarian)

My favorite season of the year is fall. I love the smell of the fall leaves and especially love apple picking, drinking cider and eating cinnamon donuts. The other thing I love in fall is chili.

It is the perfect comfort or “football game” food. I make a big batch and my husband and I eat a nice bowl topped with cheddar cheese alongside one of our favorite beers.  While my husband prefers meat in his chili, I try to make a batch every once in a while that is meatless.  I don’t think you have to put meat in chili for it to be satisfying and delicious!

While many of us think of chili as a cold weather meal, I make it in the summer months as well.  This is the time of year that the farmers market, or my garden, offers the best peppers…..

tomatoes….

and herbs…

Ok, enough pictures of my garden! My Chickpea Chili not only provides me with an easy Crockpot dinner for a busy week but also with leftovers for lunch (bonus).  My husband went back for seconds, which is how I know it’s a winner in my house! He really liked the cinnamon which is a new twist on our normal chili.  The cinnamon and poblano peppers add a nice warm and sweet flavor to the chili.

Prep time: 20 minutes, Cook time: 5-6 hours on low in the Crockpot

Ingredients

¼ cup chopped cilantro (remove the stems)

½ medium onion, chopped

1 cup green pepper, chopped (1 medium pepper)

1 cup red peppers, chopped (1 medium pepper)

1 cup yellow pepper, chopped (1 medium pepper)

1 small poblano pepper, chopped (seeds and veins removed for less spice)

1 small jalapeño, chopped (seeds removed for less spice)

1 small Serrano pepper, chopped (seeds removed for less spice)

2 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups fresh diced tomatoes

1 – 16 oz can of chickpea (rinsed and drained)

1 – 16 oz can of black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 cup water

1 – 16oz can of tomato sauce

1 – 4oz can of green chilies

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

2 teaspoons cumin

2 teaspoons paprika

1/2 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon red pepper

2 tablespoons Chili powder

¼ cup fresh, chopped basil

1 teaspoon fresh, chopped oregano

Preparation

1.      Chop vegetables and set aside in mixing bowl.

Directions

1.      Measure all of the herbs and spices and place in mixing bowl.

2.      Rinse black beans and chickpeas and drain (this helps lower the sodium).

3.      Place vegetables on bottom of Crockpot, followed by the beans, herbs and spices and remaining ingredients.

4.      Stir and cover.

5.      Set Crockpot to low for 5-6 hours (the longer you do it the more flavors it will bring out).

6.      Stir before serving.

Optional: top with cheese and cilantro and enjoy with your favorite chips or bread.

Julia’s tip

1)  I use farmers market and garden ingredients for my chili when possible but you can use store bought.  For example instead of fresh tomatoes you can buy canned in this case 2 –16oz cans of low sodium diced tomatoes.

2) For less “heat” eliminate the jalapeño and Serrano peppers.

Adapted from Cooking Light

_____________________________________________________________________

What is your favorite season and what foods do you associate with it?

One thought on “Crockpot Chickpea Chili (Vegetarian)

  1. Pingback: 35 Game-Day Recipes « A Cedar Spoon.

Let me know what you think...

