Crock Pot Marinara Sauce: Mom’s Way

TGIF! I am definitely glad it is Friday!

This weekend is my son’s 1st birthday party and we have a whole bunch of out of town guests coming for it. I can’t wait to see them all and celebrate!

On a different note…this past weekend I made a big crock pot full of marinara sauce and was able to freeze a good amount of leftovers (bonus).


As a working Mom I always like days when I can do that! I don’t know about you but I love Italian food, especially pasta with a rich, tasty marinara sauce.

I have been using my Mom’s recipe for years. I grew up loving her marinara sauce..it’s still one of my favorite meals that she makes. Her meatballs are also delicious, but that’s for another post.

You can make this recipe with or without meat depending on preferences.

Cook time: 5-6 hours in a crock pot

Serves 7-8

Ingredients

1 medium white sweet onion

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1-28oz and 1-18oz can of tomato sauce

1-28oz can of diced tomatoes

1 can of water from 16oz tomato sauce can

1-12 oz tomato paste

1 tablespoon sugar

2 tablespoons basil (dried or fresh)

2 teaspoon oregano (dried or fresh)

1 teaspoon thyme

1 teaspoon parsley (dried or fresh)

2 bay leaves

1 bouillon cube

½ teaspoon red pepper

Pepper to taste

1lb ground beef (typically I use 90/10 ground sirloin)

Directions

  1. For the meat sauce warm skillet with small amount of olive oil and brown beef. Drain and add to crock pot.
  2. Add all remaining ingredients to crock pot and stir. Cover crock pot and cook on low for 5-6 hours (stirring occasionally if you are home while cooking, otherwise it is fine to cook all day).
  3. Remove bay leaves before serving. Serve over cooked pasta, with warm garlic bread and a nice glass of Gabbiano Chianti Classico or in our case it was our favorite Hahn Pinot Noir.

Yes, it really is that easy and it is SOOO good.

This is my go-to recipe that I make on a Sunday and freeze for the future (of course it is always better fresh).

I hope you like it as much as we do!

One thought on “Crock Pot Marinara Sauce: Mom’s Way

  1. Pingback: Easy Italian Pasta Bake « A Cedar Spoon.

Let me know what you think...

